Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Sign In Navigate Up
Home > About OCC > Academic Senate > Elections > Senator-at-Large Elections  
Senator-at-Large Elections
To see the list of names received by the Academic Senate office, scroll down to "CURRENT LIST OF SUBMITTED NOMINEE NAMES" (last section of this page)

There are nine Senators-at-Large, each of whom represent the entire Full-Time Faculty Body. These nine Senators serve 3-year terms, and the terms are staggered, so not all nine elections occur during the same year. The election of these Senators is handled by the Academic Senate Office. 

Note that SALs represent all OCC FT Faculty, rather than a particular division or area of instruction.


There are three Senator-at-Large positions currently open for the 2014-2017 term.


[See also Academic Senate Spring 2014 Elections Calendar]

W 4/2/14 Nomination period opens (see NOMINATIONS below)

T 4/8/14 noon - Nomination period (via e-mail and in-person form) closes

T 4/8/14 noon - 1pm - Academic Senate meeting; nominations for SAL accepted from the floor

W 4/9/14 - T 4/15/14 - Ballot and voting period

W 4/16/14 5pm - Results announced via e-mail by AS Vice-President


​Self-nominations for FT Faculty Senator-at-Large (SAL) positions will be open from Wednesday, April 2, 2014 until noon on Tuesday, April 8, 2014.  Each eligible Division may nominate not more than two (2) candidates from the regular and contract Faculty for Senator-at-Large. Additional candidates may be nominated from the floor at a general meeting (Article 1, Section 4 of the Academic Senate By-Laws)​. 

During the period from Wednesday, April 2, 2014 through noon on Tuesday, April 8, 2014, please nominate yourself via e-mail to or by submitting this AS SAL Self-Nomination Form to the Academic Senate office directly in the Faculty House before noon on Tuesday, April 8, 2014.  A copy of the self-nomination form will also be placed in each FT faculty member’s administrative mailbox for accessibility.

We will accept SAL self-nominations from the Academic Senate floor during the regularly scheduled meeting at noon on Tuesday, April 8, 2014 in the Faculty House (Article 1, Section 4 of the Academic Senate By-Laws)​.

All SAL nominee names received by the Academic Senate office will be posted at the bottom of this webpage as they are received. If you submit your name to the Senate office and do not see your name posted on this webpage after two business days, you should contact the Senate office by calling 714.432.5050 to speak with Allison Paine, or contact the Academic Senate Vice-President, Phylicia Hassapis (949.246.2041 or


If there are more nominees than open seats, then paper ballot voting from the FT Faculty nominated candidates will begin on Wednesday, April 9, 2014 and end at 11AM on Tuesday, April 15, 2014. We anticipate that secure ballot boxes will be available in each division office for your convenience. The SAL election results will be reported to all FT Faculty on Wednesday, April 16, 2014 via email from the Academic Senate office.

If there are only three (3) nominees for the open SAL seats, the Academic Senate may elect all nominees by acclamation at the April 15, 2014 Senate meeting (Article VI.c.2 of the Academic Senate By-Laws).


Please contact the Academic Senate Vice-President, Phylicia Hassapis (949.246.2041 or, or the Senate office (Allison Paine – 714.432.5050 – if you have questions.  Others responsible for the election process include Academic Senate Parliamentarian John Dale; Senate Staff Aide Allison Paine; and the Executive Board.


If you submitted your name more than 48 hours ago and do not see it below, please contact the Academic Senate office ( or the AS Vice-President (

  • Eduardo Arismendi-Pardi (Math & Sciences)
  • Carol Barnes (Counseling)
  • Richard Frechen (Math & Sciences)
  • Tab Livingston (Math & Sciences)

Last updated Monday, 4/12/14