Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Press Releases
Press Releases

Wednesday, December 18, 2002

Orange Coast College's defending national champion dance squad, and defending national runner-up cheer team, will offer a public preview on Monday, Jan. 6, of the routines they'll enter in this winter's national championships.

The dance and cheer squads will perform at 8 p.m. in OCC's Peterson Gymnasium. Admission is $5. Tickets will be available at the door.

OCC's two squads will compete in the Universal Cheerleaders Association (UCA) National Championships, Jan. 9-11, at Walt Disney World/MGM Resorts in Orlando, Fla.

Orange Coast College's dancers, who captured the Division IA national title last year, finishing ahead of Indiana University, Michigan State University, the University of Minnesota and the University of Alabama, are favorites this year to grab the open division crown. Twenty-eight schools are entered in the 2003 open division competition. OCC's dancers have won five UCA national crowns in six years, including the last four in a row (1997, 1999, 2000, 2001 and 2002).

OCC's cheerleaders, who finished second to Palomar College of San Marcos last year in the community college division, are expected to battle it out with Palomar again this year for the title. Orange Coast's cheerleaders have grabbed four UCA national championships in the past seven years (1996, 1997, 1998 and 2000).

Members of OCC's dance team include: Sara Caeton and Crystal Wosik of Costa Mesa; Becky Holmes and Carissa Whitson of Riverside; Vanessa Vargas of Huntington Beach; Liz Kent of Irvine; Kelly Parra of Placentia; Danae DiPilla of Dana Point; Jessie Noonan of Laguna Niguel; Nicole Dallou of Mission Viejo; Michelle Macias of Yorba Linda; Kaysie Fischer of Coto de Caza; and Courtney Hirschar of Chino Hills.

Members of OCC's cheer squad include: Daniel Arana, Ashley O'Brien, Rasheed Richardson, and Ben White of Costa Mesa; Justin Gilia and Jesse Jones of Huntington Beach; Shaun Dennis and Chris Labonte of Anaheim; Luis Lui and Chris Rowe of Long Beach; Summer Witty of Irvine; Sara Richardson of Santa Ana; Alexa Miller of Westminster; Amanda Vanderpoole of Cypress; Jimmy Wallace of Yorba Linda; Eddie Rios of Orange; Carlos Bedolla of San Clemente; Kim Raasp of Santa Margarita; Lani Sipera of Redlands; Kristian Goodman of Cerritos; Alana Lynem of Riverside; Jonathan Weaver of Lake Arrowhead; Monica Soto of Wilmington; Rudy Rodriguez of Carson; and Nick Davis of Beverly Hills