All permit parking areas will be enforced Monday through Thursday, 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. and Friday, 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Staff areas, red zones, yellow zones, and disabled person zones are enforced at all times. Student permit enforcement and meter enforcement will start the third week of the first sessions of Fall, Spring, Summer semesters.A daily parking permit can be purchased from the yellow permit dispenser machines. Starting January 28, 2019, the daily parking fee will increase to $3.00. The 4-hour permit will not be available. There are three daily permit dispensers on campus: (1) Lot C near the Administration Building and the Robert B. Moore Theatre, (2) Adams Lot near the Fitness Complex and Monitor Way, (3) center of Lot E near lightpole E10. Overnight parking from 12:00 a.m. until 6:00 a.m. is not allowed. After purchasing your permit from the dispenser, you must display the daily permit on your dasboard where the date and time are clearly visible. Daily permits are valid in student parking only. They are NOT valid in STAFF or METERED stalls.
Metered parking is also available for 50 cents per hour up to a maximum of 4 hours.
Our parking spaces are available on a "first-come, first-serve" basis. The Coast Community College District and Orange Coast College accepts no liability for vandalism, theft, or accidents; you use the parking facilities at your own risk. Please drive slowly and defensively.PERMIT AND CITATION INQUIRIES
Inquiries regarding parking regulations, issuance of parking permits, and parking enforcement should be directed to OCC Campus Public Safety, (714) 432-5017.
Coast Community College District
Business and Fiscal Affairs
AP 6750 PARKING AND TRAFFIC
California Education Code Section 76360;
California Vehicle Code Section 21113;
BP and AP 7270 Student Assistants
By authority of California Vehicle Code Section 21113, the following parking and traffic rules and regulations have been adopted to facilitate vehicular movement and parking and provide for the safety of all persons using the District premises. These parking and traffic rules and regulations will be in effect 24 hours a day. In accordance with California Vehicle Code Section 21113a, it shall be an infraction for any person to do any act forbidden or fail to perform any act required in these procedures.
Authorization is granted to the Public Safety departments to issue parking citations within the confines of the campus. Citations will be issued for violation of the parking Rules and Regulations as outlined below. Automatic penalties will be assessed on all fines not paid prior to the specified due date. In addition, vehicles or bicycles parked in violation of the provisions of this Procedure are subject to fines, towing, and impoundment.
All applicable provisions of the California Vehicle Code are expressly applicable both on and off paved roadways.
All persons who enter on the District premises are charged with knowledge of the provisions of this procedure and are subject to the penalties for violations of such provisions. Specific information regarding parking rules and fees, as set forth below, is also posted on each college's website.
ARTICLE I. Parking Permits
Section 101 All parking permits are issued under the authority of the administrative staff of the campus.
Section 102 A valid permit or valid visitor pass must be visibly displayed on any vehicle parked on District premises during the hours of 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., Monday through Thursday; and 7 a.m. to 5 p.m., Friday.
Section 103 A parking permit is valid when issued by or authorized by the District, Coastline Community College, Orange Coast College, or Golden West College. It must not be altered in any way, and all portions must be completely legible. Permits being utilized by anyone other than by whom the permit is issued is strictly prohibited.
Section 104 Some District facilities do not require parking permits to legally park a vehicle in appropriate marked stalls. District sites requiring parking permits are clearly identified with signage at the entrance and various appropriate locations of the facility.
Section 105 Staff permits are issued at no charge to all District employees, exclusive student assistants (terms and conditions under which students are employed by the District are addressed in BP and AP 7270, Student Assistants). Display of the staff permit will permit parking in "staff parking" areas at all District sites.
ARTICLE II. General Traffic Regulations
Section 201 No person shall fail to obey any sign erected or maintained regarding these regulations.
Section 202 The driver of a vehicle shall yield the right-of-way to pedestrians.
Section 203 No driver approaching the rear of a vehicle which is yielding the right-of- way to a pedestrian shall overtake or pass that vehicle.
Section 204 No person shall drive any vehicle in willful, wanton, or reckless disregard for safety of persons or property.
Section 205 No person shall drive or ride a motor-driven scooter or motorcycle on any campus walkway.
Section 206 No person shall ride skateboards, roller skate, or roller blade within the confines of the campus.
Section 207 No person shall operate a motor vehicle on any sidewalk, unpaved pathway, field, or any lawn or landscaped area, except for emergency or maintenance vehicles.
Section 208 No person shall sleep in or remain overnight in any vehicle on campus. No vehicle shall be parked overnight on campus (midnight to 6:00 a.m.), with the exception of Electric Vehicles that are actively plugged into an EV charger, without permission from Campus Safety.
Section 209 No person shall drive a motor vehicle into a campus parking area except by using roadways and drive lanes. All vehicles must travel only in the direction indicated by traffic signs or marking on the roadway.
Section 210 No person shall park any vehicle of any kind containing merchandise or food offered for sale on campus without the written permission of the President or his delegate.
ARTICLE III. Speed Regulations
Section 301 No person shall operate a motor vehicle or bicycle within the confines of the campus parking lots at a speed greater than 15 miles per hour, or as posted, except for emergency vehicles. The maximum speed limit on the interior of the campus is 5 miles per hour.
Radar may be used on the campus to enforce posted speed limits.
Section 302 No person shall operate a motor vehicle, motorized cycle, or bicycle at a speed or in a manner that disregards the safety of persons or property.
ARTICLE IV. Parking Regulations
Section 401 No parking is allowed in any area that does not have a clearly marked stall, except designated dirt lots.
Section 402 Vehicles parking within a stall shall not overlap the lines that designate the stall.
Section 403 No persons shall park or leave standing a vehicle on any walkway, landscaped area, driveway, road or field without prior approval of the Public Safety Department.
Section 404 No person shall park or leave standing a vehicle not a motorcycle or moped in an area designated for motorcycles only.
Section 405 No vehicle shall be parked backwards in diagonal parking stalls.
Section 406 No person shall park or leave standing a motor vehicle blocking traffic lanes on any campus roadway or parking lot.
Section 407 When signs or marking (such as red curbs) prohibiting and/or limiting parking are erected or placed upon any street, road, or area, no person shall park or leave standing any vehicle upon such street, road, or area in violation of any such sign or marking.
Section 408 No person shall park a vehicle in an area marked "visitor area" for longer than posted on signs.
Section 409 No person shall park in any area marked in blue and identified as "Handicapped Parking" unless a handicapped placard/license plate issued by DMV is displayed on the vehicle.
Section 410 No person shall park in an area posted or marked "Staff Parking" unless a valid staff parking permit is properly displayed.
Section 411 No person shall park any vehicle in any fashion so as to create a traffic hazard.
Section 412 No person shall park on campus in a designated permit area without a current, valid parking permit properly displayed either on the left rear bumper or suspended from the rear view mirror, on the dashboard or inside lower left windshield. Motorcycles/mopeds shall have the permit affixed to the left front fork.
Section 413 Vehicles parking in metered stalls must pay for use of the stall as indicated on the meter. Display of a campus parking permit does not preclude payment of meter fees.
Section 414 Vehicles parking in Electric Vehicle (EV) stalls must be actively plugged into the EV charger. Vehicles that are actively plugged in are exempt from Section 412.
ARTICLE V. Schedule of Bail
The following bail schedule is in effect:
Unauthorized Use of Permit (stolen/forged/altered)
|201||Failure to Obey Signage||$ 35.00|
|202||Failure to Yield||$ 35.00|
|203||Passing a Yielding Vehicle||$ 35.00|
|204||Reckless Driving||$ 35.00|
|205||Motorized Vehicles on Campus||$ 35.00|
|206||Non-motorized Vehicles on Campus||$ 15.00|
|207||Driving off pavement||$ 35.00|
|208||Overnight Parking||$ 35.00|
|209||Wrong-way Driving||$ 35.00|
|210||Unauthorized Sales/Distribution||$ 35.00|
|301||Excessive Speed||$ 35.00|
|302||Reckless Disregard for Safety||$ 35.00|
|401||Parked Outside Marked Stall||$ 35.00|
|402||Parked Overlapping Stalls||$ 35.00|
|403||Parked on Restricted Area||$ 35.00|
|404||Parked in Motorcycle/Moped Area||$ 35.00|
|405||Backed into Diagonal Stall||$ 35.00|
|406||Parked Blocking Traffic||$ 40.00|
|407a||Parked in Prohibited Parking Zone (i.e. red curb)||$ 40.00|
|407b||Limited Parking Zone Violation (i.e. timed or loading)||$ 35.00|
|408||Parked Overtime in Visitor Area||$ 35.00|
|409||Parked in Handicapped Area||$ 250.00|
|410||Parked in Staff Area||$ 35.00|
|411||Parked Creating Traffic Hazard||$ 40.00|
|412||Lack of Visible/Valid Parking Permit||$ 35.00|
|413||Expired Parking Meter||$ 35.00|
|414||Parking in Electric Vehicle stall without charging||$ 35.00|
ARTICLE VI. Abandoned Vehicles
Section 601 No person shall abandon or leave standing any vehicle or motorized cycle on the campus in excess of 96 hours. All such vehicles will be stored under authority of Section 2265 8 (a) of the California Vehicle Code.
Section 602 Any person who abandons a vehicle or motorized cycle on campus or violates campus regulations that require towing of such vehicle will be responsible for payment of all towing and storage charges.
ARTICLE VII. Field Trips
All persons who participate in a field study program or field trip must complete a special permit stating the length of time the vehicle will be left on campus and when the vehicle will be removed.
It is the responsibility of all field study program advisors/instructors to obtain the an overnight parking permit from Campus Public Safety. Vehicles left overnight shall park in an authorized parking lot.
ARTICLE VIII. Repeat Offenders/Sanctions
1. Violation of any of these regulations is cause for a citation to be issued.
2. Repeated, habitual, or aggravated violations or failure to pay fines may cause the vehicle to be immobilized or stored at the expense of the vehicle owner.
3. The District and its employees shall not be held liable for loss or damage of any kind resulting from such immobilization or storage.
4. Students who fail to pay parking fines may have their academic records encumbered until all outstanding fines have been paid. Penalties may be added to each citation. The DMV and a collection agency may be notified.
5. Lack of familiarity with these regulations DOES NOT constitute a defense for failure to comply with them.
6. The responsibility for finding a LEGAL parking space rests with the motor vehicle operator. LACK OF SPACE IS NOT A VALID REASON FOR VIOLATING THESE REGULATIONS.
ARTICLE IX. Electric Vehicle Charging Stations
Unless otherwise stated, all provisions of this Procedure shall be applicable to electric vehicles.
The usage rates for EV charging shall be $1.25 per hour for the first 4 hours and $3.00 per hour thereafter.
Combined and renumbered from CCCD Policies 6751and 6752, December 2, 2013
Ratified December 2, 2013
Ratified November 4, 2015
A VALID permit is an unexpired parking permit issued by Coast Community College District and displayed on the driver's side of the rear bumper or suspended from the rear view mirror. Motorcycles/mopeds/scooters will display the permit on the right front fork. NO OTHER LOCATIONS ARE ACCEPTABLE.
An INVALID permit is one
- on which the date or time has expired
- not properly displayed
- a portion of which has been altered or mutilated
- that is not completely legible and visible
All employees of Orange Coast College wishing to park automobiles and/or motorcycles/mopeds/scooters on campus must obtain an annual staff parking permit. Annual staff permits are issued from fall semester through the subsequent summer session. Staff permits may be obtained at the Campus Public Safety Building. Please bring your driver's license for identification with you. For further information, please contact Campus Public Safety, (714) 432-5017.
Students wishing to park automobiles and/or motorcycles/ mopeds/scooters; on campus must purchase a student parking permit. The student permit allows parking in designated areas.
VENDOR AND VISITOR PARKING
Temporary parking permits will be issued at no cost by Campus Public Safety to individuals coming on campus to perform a service to the college (vendors, service technicians, guest lecturers, etc.).
Vehicles parked in a disabled person's stall must display a Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) issued placard on the dashboard on the driver's side of the vehicle.
DAILY PARKING PERMITA daily parking permit can be purchased from the yellow permit dispenser machines. Starting February 11, 2019, the daily parking fee will increase to $3.00. The 4-hour permit will not be available. There are three daily permit dispensers on campus: (1) Lot C near the Administration Building and the Robert B. Moore Theatre, (2) Adams Lot near the Fitness Complex and Monitor Way, (3) center of Lot E near lightpole E10. Overnight parking from 12:00 a.m. until 6:00 a.m. is not allowed. After purchasing your permit from the dispenser, you must display the daily permit on your dasboard where the date and time are clearly visible. Daily permits are valid in student parking only. They are NOT valid in STAFF or METERED stalls.
The college will issue permits permitting parking in designated areas on campus. A permit owner is authorized to park ONLY IN THOSE AREAS PRESCRIBED BY THAT PERMIT AND DURING HOURS POSTED.
The purchase of a permit DOES NOT insure the availability of a parking space, but grants the privilege of parking in a specified area WHEN SPACE IS AVAILABLE.
Vehicles authorized by permit to park on the Orange Coast College campus shall park only in areas that have been painted with white stripes to indicate parking stalls.
No vehicle shall park so as to impede the ingress or egress of any other vehicle.
The following State of California color-designated zones shall be adhered to:
RED ZONE Emergency vehicles only
YELLOW ZONE Limited time parking as designated
BLUE ZONE Handicapped
PARKING ON THE INTERIOR OF CAMPUS
Only those vehicles displaying a "Service Tech" permit issued by Campus Public Safety will be permitted to drive and park on the interior of campus. Violators will be cited.
CAMPERS AND MOTOR HOMES
Camper/motor homes may park on campus only if they can occupy a single parking space and are parked in a manner that does not obstruct visibility, the flow of traffic, or any fire lane. A current parking permit must be displayed. Overnight parking is prohibited.
Pedestrians have the right-of-way on campus.
SPECIAL EVENT PARKING
Departments with special parking needs are to contact Campus Public Safety in advance of the scheduled event to coordinate parking requirements.
No vehicle shall be left on campus between the hours of midnight and 6:00 a.m. without the express permission of Campus Public Safety.
Use of metered parking on campus is on a pay-as-you-go basis. An OCC parking permit DOES NOT preclude payment for metered parking. Metered parking cost 50 cents for 1 hour.
DUPLICATE PERMIT -
Staff members or students owning both a 4-wheel vehicle and a 2-wheel vehicle may contact Campus Public Safety and obtain a duplicate permit at no cost. Only one duplicate permit will be issued to any one individual.
The requester must produce the current registration to both vehicles (motorcycle/moped/scooter and car/truck), as well as proof that, a current OCC permit has been purchased.
REPLACEMENT OF PERMITS
1. Alternate Vehicle - Upon verification that a valid permit has been purchased, Campus Public Safety will issue "Alternate Vehicle" permits for ONE DAY ONLY unless mechanic's verification is presented to substantiate major, extended vehicle repair.
2. Stolen Permit - No replacement will be made, unless the permit is located and confiscated as evidence after a report is filed.
3. Mutilated Permit - Upon surrender of the mutilated permit or significant portion thereof, Campus Public Safety will issue a replacement permit for the remainder of the semester.
4. Lost Permits or Permits Affixed to Sold Vehicles - No replacement will be made. The individual must either purchase a new permit or utilize metered or daily permit parking.
RESPONSIBILITY FOR FINES/PENALTIES
The registered owner of the vehicle shall be held responsible for any liability or damage claims, including parking and/or other traffic violation penalties arising in connection with the operation of the vehicle on the Orange Coast College campus.
COMPLIANCE WITH TRAFFIC LAWS
The provisions of the California Vehicle Code have full force and effect on the Orange Coast College campus and all persons operating motor vehicles thereon are expected to comply fully with this Code.
Repeated violation of parking or traffic regulations will be considered as substantial cause to revoke driving and parking privileges on the Orange Coast College campus. Such revocation will be determined by the Dean of Students or his designee.
The Coast Community College District and its employees assume no liability for damage to or theft of any vehicle or its contents, nor for any bicycle or any other article of personal property while on campus. Users of campus parking lots do so at their own risk.