Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Home > Enrollment Center > Registration > Student Representation Fee FAQ
Menu

Student Representation Fee FAQ

In accordance with Assembly Bill 1504, all students who register on or after January 1, 2020 are charged the $2 Student Representation Fee. Each fee collected supports student representation before city, county, state and/or federal government. The Student Representation Fee cannot be used to support individual candidates or campaigns.


Where does the $2 go? What is the fee used for? 

Each fee collected is divided between the Associated Students of Orange Coast College (ASOCC) and the recognized statewide community college student organization, Student Senate of the California Community Colleges (SSCCC).  One dollar ($1) of every two-dollar ($2) fee collected shall be expended to establish and support the operations of a statewide community college student organization, recognized by the Board of Governors of the California Community Colleges, with effective student representation and participation in state-level community college shared governance and with governmental affairs representatives to advocate before the Legislature and other state and local governmental entities.


One dollar ($1) of every two-dollar fee collected will be expended solely through the Associated Students of Orange Coast College (ASOCC) to provide support for governmental affairs representatives of local or statewide student body organizations who may be stating their positions and viewpoints before city, county, state and/or federal government.  Essentially, the funds could be used by ASOCC in order to provide necessary training and access to opportunities to represent OCC students, including but not limited to:

  • Attending legislative activities like the SSCCC General Assembly
  • Visiting the offices of local and state elected officials
  • Training ASOCC representatives to effectively participate in these processes


The Student Representation Fee cannot be used to support individual candidates or campaigns.  This fee is separate from the current College Services Charge, which supports services and provides benefits to students on campus, such as the Library, Computer Lab, Bookstore buyback, Cinema discounts, free tutoring, interest-free emergency loans, student activities, and legal advice.


If you have additional questions about the purpose and usage of the Student Representation Fee, or would like to get involved with ASOCC advocacy efforts, you may contact the ASOCC Office by email at asocc@occ.cccd.edu or telephone at (714) 432-5730.


What if I don't see the charge on my account for Spring 2020?

After February 1, 2020, if the Student Representation fee is not listed on your account, then no further action is required on your part.  This is because you may have registered for classes before January 1, 2020.  However, this charge will be on your account in future semesters.


How do I pay?

To make your additional fee payment as convenient as possible, you can use MyCoast to pay by credit card or submit a payment in-person to the Bursar’s Office. 


Will my Financial Aid cover the fee?

If you receive a grant, such as a Federal Pell Grant or Cal Grant, your financial aid will pay the cost of the Student Representation fee and all other institutional charges at the time of first disbursement, up to the total amount of your grant. 


Can I opt-out of paying the fee?

Students may present a request to waive the Student Representation Fee at the Enrollment Center. The request must be submitted prior to the earliest refund deadline for the student’s enrolled classes. For questions about the waiver, contact the Enrollment Center by email at arinfo@occ.cccd.edu or telephone at (714) 432-5072.


If you do not seek a waiver and you wish to drop your courses, to avoid paying this fee you must drop all classes prior to the refund date for each class.  Fee credit cannot be given nor transferred if a student withdraws after the refund date for the dropped class, per State regulations.


What if I don't pay?

As a reminder, if you have a balance of $100 or more as of March 1, a hold will be placed on your account after that date. You will not be able to enroll in classes at any of the Coast Community College District colleges until your balance is paid.