

OCC Academic Senate Executive Board Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, September 26, 2023, 11:30-12:30 PM

Student Union 214 & Zoom

E-Board Members in Attendance: Parliamentarian Cyndee Ely, Vice-President Rendell Drew, President Lee Gordon, Secretary and PDI Chair Marilyn Kennedy, Curriculum Chair Lori Pullman (non-voting).

E-Board Members Absent: None.

Guests Officially Signed In: Classified Senate President John Fawcett, Senator Irene Naesse.

Minutes approved on October 3, 2023

The Presiding Officer's vote will be recorded as an abstention, unless voting to break a tie.

I. Preliminary Matters

- A. Call to Order: President Gordon called the meeting to order at 12:30 p.m.
- B. Public Comments: None.
- C. <u>Approval of the Minutes:</u> *Motion 1: Secretary Kennedy moved to approve the September 19, 2023, minutes; approved with one abstention by President Gordon.* Per request, the September 12, 2023, meeting minutes will be held until next week.
- D. Executive Board Member Reports: Secretary Kennedy reported that the Senator terms do not seem to be accurately updated. President Gordon stated that we will review those next week in the E-Board.
 Secretary Kennedy suggested that we should consider adding an area on the Senate Agenda for the College President and VPI to make brief announcements. President Gordon stated that the E-Board could review that idea next week.

II. Discussion of Upcoming Agenda Items:

Agenda Items for September 26 and future: Waterfront Retreat, Safety, ACCJC Standards, Transparency Committee report, Flex MOU, Bylaws review.

III. Business:

- A. Selection of Committee Representatives: Applicant paragraphs were read, and a drawing was conducted for each committee as noted below. Names selected will be placed on the Senate Consent Agenda:
 - 1. **College Council:** Chris Berg selected; Heather Codding alternate.
 - 2. **Facilities Planning Committee**: Andrew Kinds and David McMahan selected; Jodi Della Marna alternate
 - 3. **Technology Committee**: Sam Yip and Yilin Wang selected.
 - 4. Accreditation Coordinating Council: Charles Otwell selected; Sean Cook, alternate.
 - 5. Institutional Effectiveness Committee: Sean Cook selected.
 - 6. **OCC Appeal Hearing Committee**: Eric Cohen, Glynis Hoffman, Alexandria Rojas, Laurie Campbell, Chris Berg, Michael Monge, Jeanne Neil selected.