Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Home > Academics > Academic Honor Societies > Phi Theta Kappa > About Phi Theta Kappa
About Phi Theta Kappa
The Beta Mu Alpha Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Orange Coast College was granted a charter by Phi Theta Kappa International headquarters on March 18, 2003.
Original advisors included Dr. Kathryn Mueller, Dean of Students;
Nancy Timmons, Scholarship Office Coordinator; and Dr. Greg Clark, Professor of Leadership Studies.
To date, the Beta Mu Alpha Chapter has accepted more than 2,000 high-achieving students' applications for membership. Annual chapter membership usually remains between 400 - 600 students currently enrolled in classes at OCC.
Officers are elected at the end of each spring semester and serve for the next full academic year.
The chapter meets at least monthly throughout the year, though it may meet more often for planning and hosting special projects, activities, trips, and events.

The Four Hallmarks of Phi Theta Kappa
Phi Theta Kappa membership is an opportunity to develop leadership skills through a variety of scholarly, service and social activities. Chapter goals are driven by a combination of one or more "hallmarks," with both chapters and individuals eligible for special recognition for their accomplishments. Here are some of the ways chapters may choose to engage their members:
  • Leadership Hallmark
  • Scholarship Hallmark
  • Fellowship Hallmark
  • Service Hallmark